Q Calendar

 “Surely the number of months with Allah is twelve months in Allah’s book…” – Qur’an 9:36
From Muharram through the month of Ramadhan to Dhulhijja; observances and commemorations of Calendar events are the touchstones of Muslim life. The rituals evoke both history and theology, and engender feelings of joy, sorrow and introspection.


Q Calendar

The beginning of the lunar month is recognised by the
sighting of the new moon (crescent). On the 1st of every month, it is mustahab to recite a 2 rakat salaa and give out sadaqa, Allah will take care of You and keep you safe throughout the whole month.


It is the opening month of the Islamic year and one of the four months declared as sacred by Allah.



The second month of the Islamic year sees the wafat of the Holy Prophet (pbuh) and Imam Ali Ar-Ridha (pbuh).


Rabi’ul Awwal

Rabi’ul Awwal is the third month of the Islamic calendar and is significant in Islamic history for it is the month in which humanity was blessed by the birth of Prophet Muhammad (pbuh).


Rabi’ul Akher

Rabi’ul Akher is the fourth month of the Islamic calendar. The literal meaning of this month is the second spring.


Jamad ul Awwal

This is the fifth month of the Islamic Calendar. The word Jamad implies dryness & lack of rain, with this month being the first of the dry months.


Jamad ul Akher

This is the sixth month of the Islamic calendar. The origin of the word Jumada, is used to denote dry, parched land and hence denotes the dry months.



The seventh month of the Islamic calendar marks the beginning of the spiritual season with its climax being the month of Ramadhan.



Imam Ali (pbuh) said that the Lord had called it Sha’ban because His favours and bounties were scattered (sha’aba) all over during it.


Month of Ramadhan

The month of Ramadhan is that in which the Quran was revealed, a guidance to men and clear proofs of the guidance and the distinction.



Shawwal is the first of the three months named as “AshHural-Hajj” (i.e. the months of Hajj).



This is one of the four sacred months, the others being Dhulhijja, Muharram and Rajab. It is also one of the 3 months known as Ash hural Hajj.



This is one of the four sacred months, the others being Dhulqa’da, Muharram and Rajab.


Learning Resources

Information bank