Huruful Muqatta’at Area

Muqatta’at are unique letter combinations that appear in the beginning of
29 chapters of the Qur’an.

The word Muqatta’aat is derived from the word ‘qata’a’meaning to cut (abbreviate). They are also known as fawātih or ‘openers’ as they form the opening ayaat of their respective chapters.

Fourteen letters (exactly half of the 28 letters of Arabic) are found in 14 different combinations occurring singly or in combinations of 2,3,4 or 5.

2 of the chapters are in Muhammad Square – Suratu Yaseen (36) & Suratu Taha (20) and one in Women’s Corner – Suratu Maryam (19) The rest are as follows:

Singles Close

These 3 chapters begin with a single letter.
38. Sad
50. Qaf
68. Al-Qalam

Meemat Place

The 7 chapters begin with Alif Laam Meem (Suratul A’raf (7) begins with Alif Laam Meem Saad) and focus on the certainty of the Qur’an.
2. Al-Baqara
3. Al-‘Imran
29. Al-‘Ankabut
30. Al-Rum
31. Luqman
32. Al-Sajda
7. Al-A’raf

Hawameem Place

Known as the crown and most decorative chapters of the Qur’an, these 7 chapters were revealed in sequence. The chronological and arranged order is the same. The emphasis is on Monotheism and each end with forgiveness.
40. Al-Ghafir
41. Al-Fussilat
42. Al-Shura
43. Al-Zukhruf
44. Al-Dukhan
45. Al-Jathiya
46. Al-Ahqaf

Tawaseen Place

The 3 chapters here begin with the letters Taa Seen (27) and Taa Seen Meem (26 & 28) . The main theme is Divine Guidance through Prophet hood with a focus on Prophets Musa and Sulaiman
26. Al-Shu’ara’
27. Al-Naml
28. Al-Qasas

Ra‘aat Place

These 6 chapters contain the opening letters Alif Laam Raa – whilst Suratul Ra’ad (13) begins with ALif Laam Meem Raa. They focus on the clarity of the Qur’an. 4 of the chapters here are names of Ambiya (Prophets).
10. Yunus
11. Hud
12. Yusuf
13. Al-Ra’ad (begins with Alif Meem Meem Raa)
14. Ibraheem
15. Al-Hijr