“It is the duty of all mankind to come to the House, a pilgrim if he is able to make his way there”. Suratu Aali Imran 3:97

The Hajj consists of two parts:
Umrah e Tamattu (for entering Makka) – (Anytime from 1st Shawwal to 8th Dhulhijjah)
Hajj e Tamattu – (9th-12th Dhulhijjah)

Hajj is not an ordinary journey but one that has a special significance. We will look at all the various aspects that are associated with Hajj.


‘Umra Mufrada

Umra is a pilgrimage to Makka which unlike Hajj can be performed at any time of the year. In Arabic, Umra means “to visit a populated place”. It is sometimes called the ‘minor Hajj. Highly recommended unlike the Hajj which is obligatory at least once for every able-bodied Muslim who can afford it.

Social Aspect

Hajj is a cause of Muslims of all nations and origins to gather together in one place. They are all partners in their goals and ideals.

Hajj is meant to show the solidarity of Islam; the bond that is cemented by faith.

Spiritual Aspect

The principal goal of us as humans is to recognise Allah, to attain nearness to Him. This requires cleansing of the soul and remembering Him in all sincerity and turning our hearts towards Him.

In some of the practices of Hajj like entering in the state of Ihraam and going to the plains of Arafat; one remembers the wearing of ‘kafan’; death; and the multitude that will gather on the day of judgement.

Human Aspect

The Ka’ba although called the house of God is really the house of mankind. Here all human beings whether rich or poor, of whatever creed or colour are equal.

Therefore all materiel aspects, outer clothing and other signs which make class distinction are put aside and two plain white unsewn pieces of cloth are worn.

As one the Muslims go towards Allah making the decision to keep free of rivalry and pride.

Ritual Aspect

There are three kinds of Hajj:

Hajj Ifraad
Hajj Qir’an
Hajj Tamattu

The first two are the duty of the residents of Makka and the surrounding areas upto 48 miles and the latter for those living outside these two areas.