Huruful Muqatta’at Area

Muqatta’at are unique letter combinations that appear in the beginning of 29 suwer of the Qur’an. The word Muqatta’aat is derived from the word ‘qata’a’meaning to cut (abbreviate). They are also known as fawātih or ‘openers’ as they form the opening ayaat of their respective suwer.

Listen to audio

Fourteen letters (exactly half of the 28 letters of Arabic) are found in 14 different combinations occurring singly or in combinations of 2,3,4 or 5. 2 of these suwer are in Muhammad City Centre – 36. Ya Sin & 20. Ta Ha. One is in Women’s Retreat – 19. Maryam which begins with Kaaf Haa Yaa ‘Ain Saad.

The rest are as follows:


These 3 suwer begin with a single letter. They are:

38. Sad
50. Qaf
68. Al-Qalam



The 7 suwer in this suburb begin with Alif Laam Meem. They are:

2. Al-Baqara
3. Al-‘Imran
29. Al-‘Ankabut
30. Al-Rum
31. Luqman
32. Al-Sajda
7. Al-A’raf (begins with Alif Laam Meem Saad).



This refers the group of suwer which begin with:

Taa Seen;
26. Al-Shu’ara’

or Taa Seen Meem;
27. Al-Naml and
28. Al-Qasas



Known as the crown and the most decorative suwer of the Qur’an, these suwer were revealed in Makka in sequence. The chronological and arranged order is the same. The emphasis is on tawheed and each ends with forgiveness. They are:

40. Al-Ghafir
41. Al-Fussilat
42. Al-Shura
43. Al-Zukhruf
44. Al-Dukhan
45. Al-Jathiya
46. Al-Ahqaf